Departments of Excellence

Amongst the activities aiming to exploit the university's scientific potential, Sapienza has placed well in the funding of university departments of excellence (Bill. 232/2016 - 2017 Budget Bill).

Each university was eligible for a funding of a maximum of 15 departments. Sapienza, which was eligible for 17 departments, received support for the projects presented by 8 departments:

  • Computer Science
  • Physics
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Technology
  • Earth Sciences
  • Molecular Medicine
  • “Antonio Ruberti” Information, Control and Management Engineering
  • Psychology
  • Psychology of Development and Socialisation Processes

for a total of €58,674,425 in funding.

In order to guarantee the optimal coordination of all related activities, Sapienza appointed a control team for excellence strategy (Rector's Decree N. 663/2018).

The guidelines for departments of excellence were issued through Rector's Decree N. 1221/2018.

© Sapienza Università di Roma - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma - (+39) 06 49911 - CF 80209930587 PI 02133771002