The Sapienza Statute has recognized the departments a leading role in the articulation of the University. 

The departments are primary structures competent in the field of organization and management of research activities and educational activities. They belong to a specific faculty which has the task of coordinating and evaluating its activities.
The departments define the objectives to be achieved during the year, elaborate the three-year plan of research activities, propose the didactic organization and the relative modifications of the study courses, propose the activation of PhDs, masters, high-level training activities, they manage the technical-administrative staff assigned to the structure.

They have organizational and administrative autonomy with regard to all contractual and conventional measures of expenditure.They have financial resources on the basis of which they define the recruitment needs and decide the requests for competition and the calls of the professors. The organs of the departments are the Department Council, the Director and the Joint Scientific Committee.

The departments have their own regulations approved by the Department Council according to a standard scheme approved by the University's governing bodies.

Below is the list of departments' sites, at the top right you can consult a summary page with the updated names of the department directors.


© Sapienza Università di Roma - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma - (+39) 06 49911 - CF 80209930587 PI 02133771002