Immagine decorativa web

University Quality Assurance Committee

Sapienza University relies on a Quality Team, called University Quality Assurance Committee, in order to ensure the Quality of its system. This Committee, regulated by specific Rules, was approved by the Academic Senate and the Board of Directors as per Art. 4, paragraph 7 of the Statute. The University Quality Assurance Committee members were appointed by Rector decree n. 3856/2019, and represent our two main macro-areas: education and administration.
Go to the Regulations (in Italian)
Go to Rector Decree n. 3856/2019 (in Italian)


University Quality Assurance Committee members


Ersilia Barbato President - Macro area C - Department of Oral and Maxillo-Facial Sciences
Antonello Mai  Macro area A - Department of chemistry and Technology of Drugs
Luigi Leone  Macro area B - Department of Social and Developmental Psychology
Maria Cristina Annesini  Macro area D – Department of Chemical Engineering Materials Environment
Elisabetta Corsi  Macro area E -Department of History, Cultures, Religions
Margherita Carlucci  Macro area F – Department of Social Sciences and Economics
Marella Maroder President of the Didactic Commission
Tiziana Pascucci Deputy Rector for Right to Education and Academic Quality (permanent guest)

Administrative members

Giulietta Capacchione Director, Academic Programmes and Right to Education Area
Laura Leone Director, Student Services Area
Maria Ester Scarano Director, International Office
Antonella Cammisa Director, Research and Technology Transfer Area
Raffaela Iovane Director, InfoSapienza ICT Area
Giuseppe Foti Manager, Strategic Support and Programming – Strategic Support and Communications Office
Ingrid Centomini Manager, Auditing and Management Control Office. – Accounting Finance&Management Control Area


Mission and organisation of the Quality Team

Sapienza has gained an important experience by starting in 2005 its own Quality Assurance System (AQ) for degree programmes, based on the information model of the National Council for the Evaluation of the University System, named PerCorso Qualità (PCQ), which requires planning and management of the courses aimed at improving their quality.

To ensure the continuity of this process a University Quality Assurance Committee, called Team Quality, was established in 2009 by the Rector.
The Team is in charge of the activities related to the development of new instruments and methodologies, the implementation of Sapienza QA system and the organisation of training courses on the matter.

The University Quality Assurance Committee took office on May 13, 2013 and has set its strategic guidelines through a specific organisational model or network. To this end, some guidelines can be summarised as follows:

  • stimulate the "decision-makers" (Rector, Director General, Academic Senate, Board of Directors) on the "Quality" issue;
  • activate the "participants" (Deans, Department Directors, Programme Coordinators) on the substantial and non-formal aspects of Quality Assurance;
  • achieve greater integration between different planning systems: Quality Assurance is part of the University's performance management;
  • reinforce the network, by stimulating Faculties and Departments into overseeing the process of Quality Assurance, self-assessment, review and improvement of our Degree Programmes;
  • support structures that work with the Quality Team through a growth path on Quality Assurance issues.


The Quality Team has been organised based on those several and complex activities and research activities of Sapienza, and has a central role in the University Quality Assurance (AQ) as envisaged by the AVA System.
All the "Quality Team" pages on our website present the Quality Team and its organisation and provide methodological and operational support to Sapienza staff which is contributing to the creation of the Sapienza Quality Assurance system.



© Sapienza Università di Roma - Piazzale Aldo Moro 5, 00185 Roma - (+39) 06 49911 - CF 80209930587 PI 02133771002